Do you know someone who performed a “hands-on lifesaving” action during an emergency while they were working?  Did they exceed expectations of their job description while saving a life?  If yes, nominate them for a Lifesaving Award!

What are the Lifesaving Awards?

Each year, the Governor’s Industrial Safety & Health Advisory Board recognizes workers in Washington state who saved a life while on the job.  

The Lifesaving Awards highlights how acts of heroism can come from unexpected places – they can be people working in construction, factories, retail, and many other occupations.  Teachers saving their students, utility workers rescuing strangers, office workers performing CPR to coworkers, and many other stories.

2024 Lifesaving Awards Guidelines

  • The lifesaving action must have been performed while on duty and in an emergency.
  • The incident must have occurred between June 1, 2023 through May 31, 2024.
  • The lifesaver is an employee in the state of Washington who is covered by industrial insurance.
  • They personally performed urgently required “hands-on” action.  In addition, the act must NOT be part of the employee’s normal work duties.  It must be above and beyond the call of their profession.
  • The application to nominate a lifesaver is submitted timely (June 30, 2024).

    For more details, read the Nomination Guidelines.

    Recognizing Our Lifesavers

    Nominate a workplace hero with the Lifesaving Award Application before it’s too late!  Fill out the application so a workplace hero can get the recognition they deserve.  The application deadline is June 30, 2024.

    Lifesaving Award Recipients will be recognized at our 73rd Annual Governor’s Safety & Health Conference at the Greater Tacoma Convention Center on September 25, 2024.  Award recipients are encouraged to attend to receive their award in person and invite guests to the ceremony. 

    Curious about past recipients?  See 2021,  2022,  2023

    Note:  Lifesaving actions performed June 1, 2024 or later can be considered for the 2025 Lifesaving Awards.